© 2010                   

TAMIYA RYU IAI                               ©

It is said that Tamiya Ryu was actually founded by Tamiya Heibei Shigemasa (pupil of Hayashizake Jinsuke Shigenobu who is considered the founder of iaijutsu). The style was favoured by the shogun and one of Shigemasa's descendants, Tamiya Heibei Narimasa instructed the style to Tokugawa Ieyasu during the Tensho(Tempo?) Era (1573-1591). It was recognised as an official martial Art of Tokugawa Kishuu province.

Tamiya Ryu has progressed through three different phases : Ancient Tamiya, Kishuu Tamiya and New Tamiya. Ancient Tamiya ceased at the end of the fifth generartion and became Kishuu Tamiya. Documents report that Kishuu Tamiya Ryu was the authorised successor of Tamiya Okito. Kishu Tamiya was transmitted to Saijo province 'EhimePrefecture) as Shinken Ryu.  Iyo Saijo province was a branch of the Kishuu family.

Through generations of successors, the Kishuu family kept a close affiliation with the Ryu. Since the second son of Yorissumi - the Chief Councelor to the Shogunate - Yorinori, had succeeded as the heir to Lord Saijo in february 1670, Kishuu Tamiya Ryu prospered in Saijo.  Through a combination of Tamiya blood-familymembers and adopted sons, Tsumaki Junjiro Mototsugi inherited the school in 1797 and since then the Tsumaki Family have developed as a disitinctive line of swordmen, and succeeded through to the 14th grandmaster Tsumaki Seirin Motonobu.

When the Soke Tsumaki Seirin passed away at the age of 102 years in Odawara(JP) on monday June 4, 2006 the Tamiya Ryu organization split into two factions : one led by Tsumaki Kazuo (that became the Tamiya Ryu Iaijutsu Genwakai) and another one led by his brother Tatsuo, with which Ueno Sensei, Hanshi, and Fukui Seiichi, Hanshi, are affiliated.  (These two factions function separate and distinct from one another.)

The Tamiya Ryu Iai style of Master Fukui, based on his studies of Kobudo, and in accordance with the principles of Mino Kane is the style that is being popularized in Belgium, on the European continent and beyond, by Patrik Demuynck, student of Katsumata Kenichi Sensei and of Master Fukui Seiichi.

Tamiya Ryu Iai is a Martial Art that builds self-confidence, personal growth, coordination, language skills, conflict resolution and an appreciation for Japanese Culture.  Tamiyu Ryu Iai pratices its techniques with a humble and modest heart and continually trains the spirit, keeping in mind the principle of Katsujin-ken.  This is a unique opportunity to learn a 400-year old sword art and this is as close as you can get to ancient traditonal Martial Arts. 

The classes are on-going and you can sign up throughout the year.

THE THEORIES                                   ©

The theory of the Tamiya Ryu Iai school consist of 4 volumes:

1) Shoden - Omote no Maki (11 kata : 8 sitting and 3 standing techniques)

2) Chuden - Okugishu (11 kata : 6 basic and 5 advanced techniques)

3) Okuden - Koran no Maki (14 kata : 9 standing techniques and 5 sitting techniques)

    Okuden - Gokui (3 secret techniques)

4) Tachitai (10 kata with partner : 7 with Tachi (long sword) and 3 with Wakizashi (short          sword). This set of sparring techniques was set up by Kobuta Sugane shortly before Meiji    period(1864). ©

Here under: a woodcarving made by Fukui Seiichi, Hanshi, describing some of the theories of Tamiya Ryu. This carving is displayed in the Hakone Jinya Budo Hall.


1. Inazuma (Lightning)                                                 

2. Oshinuki (Pin down & draw)

3. Yokemi (Body protection)

4. Mawarikakari (Turn & attack)

5. Mune no katana (Chest sword)

6. Tsukahazushi (Removing from the hilt)

7. Tsukitome (Stopping the trust)

8. Shiranami (White capped waves)

9. Nigemi (Body escape)

10. Oitachi (Drive away)

11. Chôjô (The summit)




1. Mukou no katana (Opposite sword)

    Sono 1 : Kihon waza

    Sono 2 : Kata

2. Yokemi (Safeguarding the body)

3. Mune no katana (Chest sword)

4. Hidari Mi (Left body)

5. Migi Mi (Right body)

6. Komite Giri (Cutting with including hands)


1. Kissaki Gaeshi (Turning over the sword point)

2. Issasoku (A quick step)

3. Mukoutsume (Moving closer to the opposite side)

4. Hizatsume (Closing the knees together)

5. Kado no katana (Corner sword)


TACHI WAZA (Standing techniques)


1. Tôgôsestsu(Katana Aigiri) (Meeting the cutting sword)

2. Mizukagami (Reflection in the water)

3. Mojiritachi (The twisting sword)

4. Satetsu (The left(steel) sword)

5. Utetsu (The right(steel) sword)

6. Fujisan (Mount Fuji)

7. Matsukaze (Wind through the pines)

8. Yôarashi (Nightstorm)

9. Tsukikage no tachi (Moonshadow sword)


SUWARI WAZA (Sitting techniques) ©

1. Intengiri (Negative (left) turn around cut)

2. Yôtengiri (Positive (right) turn around cut)

3. Hichô (Flying bird)

4. Myôi (Excquisite mind)

5. Murakumo (Gathering clouds)

GOKUI (Secret Teaching) ©

1. Mukou no nihou (Two swords at the opposite)

2. Waki no nihou (Two swords at the side)

3. Koe no nuki (Sound of the draw)



1-4 : Nuki Gake

5-7 : Nuki Butsu


8. Uchi Kiri

9. Sayutome Kirikaeshi

10. Satome Torikomi

Fukui Seiichi 8th dan Hanshi

Demo anno 1992

Fukui Seiichi 8th dan Hanshi

Demo anno 2009

Katsumata Kenichi 8th dan Kyoshi

Demo anno 2015

Demuynck Patrik 7th dan Renshi

Demo anno 2015